Iowa Electric Utility Safety and Training Association (IEUSTA) is a peer-developed group of safety professionals in the utility industry comprised of representatives from large investor-owned utilities, city municipals, generation and transmission electric cooperatives, and rural electric cooperatives. 

IEUSTA is organized and operated exclusively to educate members regarding safety, training and loss control relating to electric utility systems through a continuous exchange of information, ideas, and job-related experience. 

They've also chosen to invest in the future of utility industry safety by offering a $1,000 scholarship to one student each year at the Iowa-Illinois Safety Council Professional Development Conference

All students attending an Iowa college or university and pursuing a degree in a safety-related field are eligible for this award. Out of state students are also eligible and encouraged to apply.

Application process:

Applications must be submitted by March 15, 2018.  Awards will be announced on or before May 1, 2018.